You’re Never Alone in Stress

One of the many ways people cope with stress is through religion. There is such a wide range of religions that inspire people to push through their anxieties. I grew up Catholic, but I’m not an extremely religious person. I attend church every once in a while, and I love hearing the priest’s sermon. I always find it relatable to some situation that I’m going through in my life. However, I know a lot of people lean toward religion, whether it’s listening to uplifting religious music or praying. As a naturally curious person, I asked my roommate Bethany how she uses religion, in her case specifically Christianity, to alleviate stress. “It makes you feel like you’re not alone, like someone is looking out for you,” said Bethany. “When I read the bible I see certain passage that are reassuring and relatable.” So, I collected some religious passages that relate to stress.

  • Here’s a list of 15 Bible verses to read when you’re stressed.
    • My favorite is: “But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. So do not worry about tomorrow; for tomorrow will care for itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.” Matthew 6:33-34 I think it has good commentary on taking things one day at a time.
  • Here’s some Islamic quotes on how to be happier and relieve stress.
    • My favorite is: “Look at those below you (less fortunate than you), and don’t look at those above you, for this is better.” (Muslim) It’s easy in college to compare ourselves to others, whether it’s someone who did better on an exam or someone who’s more involved and seems to be handling everything better than you. However, it’s good to think about what a privilege it is to even be in college.
  • Here’s 20 Buddhist stress relief quotes.
    • My favorite is: “If the problem can be solved why worry? If the problem cannot be solved worrying will do you no good.”― Śāntideva Personally, I find the most inspiration in Buddhist quotes. They’re so simple, yet they hold so much depth.
  • Here’s some inspiring Hindu quotes.
    • My favorite is: “Put your heart, mind, and soul into even your smallest acts. This is the secret of success.” -Swami Sivananda
      When you’re stressed, it’s hard to see a purpose in doing little homework assignments, compared exams or papers. However, little things, like attendance points, add up and can make or break grades.

I hope some of these quotes help inspire you to power through your stress. This week I will be delving into more religious ideas and how they relate to stress. Write to you soon.

Leave a Reply

